In the Sunday bulletin today, Sunday, November 8, 2015, the Shawn Smith story continues. “Shawn Smith (Cassie) joining our pastoral team as Director of Assimilation and Ministry Development working with our various small groups and ministry teams, building new teams, and developing enhanced communications.”

QUESTION: Is this a paid position? We hope not since it is common knowledge Shepherd’s Grove is having financial difficulties. However, in all the churches investigated this position. Is part time and voluntary.

It is common knowledge Shepherd’s Grove is not exactly in sound financial condition. Despite the happy face leadership attempts to promote, we have information to the contrary that we cannot publish at this point to protect the outside parties involved.

Dateline: Sunday, October 25, 2015, in the morning service, Shawn Smith is “installed” on staff as a paid greeter in addition to the many volunteer greeters that faithfully show up every Sunday morning and greet worshipers as they enter the church.

Dateline: October 11, 2015 – Posted 1:00 PM PDT –  Dr. Rebecca Lord has resigned her possition as Assistant Director of the Hour of Power Choir.  Dr. Lord has accepted a position at Brigham Young University in Idaho as Choral Director. Dr. Lord served under Don Neuen, Minister of Music and Director of the Hour of Power Choir and at UCLA.

We will miss you, Rebecca, and we wish you continued success in your career.

Dateline: September 16, 2015 – 25th Anniversary Reminder received via email from Glenn J. Kissel of Evansville, Indiana.

Just a reminder that 

September 16, 2015 is the 25th Anniversary of the dedication of the Crean Tower, 

the Arvella Schuller Carillon and the Mary Hood Chapel.

Glen Kissel, Ph.D., M.Div.

Evansville, IN

Dateline: September 7. 2015 – Posted: 5:30 PM PDT – From Shepherd’s Grove Schools:


Shepherd’s Grove Schools, with the help of the Crystal Cathedral Ministries, has completed the move to the First Baptist Church of Garden Grove.

The name of the school will be Trinity Christian Schools.

John Charles recently joined the School board which includes Lawrence Wilkes, Carol Barber, Wade Whitcomb, Beth Swift, Ken Robinson, Carla Hutchison and Chuck Trout.

Many thanks to Pastor Wade Whitcomb, the Trustee Board and the Congregation of the First Baptist Church who went “beyond the call of duty” to welcome the school.

Classes began on 31 August. Carole Barber, the principal, ensures the RCA curriculum will remain the same as when the school was located at Shepherd's Grove.

On Sunday, September 13th, there will be an Open House (one until three o'clock) at the new school.  The address is 12761 Euclid Street, Garden Grove, 92840. Please visit and “break bread” with the teachers, staff and board members.

Thank you for your support and prayers!

Dateline: September 6, 2015 – Posted: 3:30 PM PDT – From Jim Kirkland, webmaster for Pens Opinion, update on the “Buzz” item dated July 15, 2015.  A few Sundays ago, Pastor Geoff Madison approached me and asked to talk privately. I agreed. The conversation was amicable. In that conversation, Geoff vehemently denied any involvement in the allegations previously posted and was quite sincere. Therefore, I believe him. He did not say it didn’t happen; just that if it did happen, he was not involved, saying he has never had any contact with the choir nor has he ever attended a choir rehearsal. He also offered, if it did happen, it was someone else that was involved in the attack on Gays.

In fairness to Geoff and in the interest of fair and balanced reporting, this item is being posted. Since my conversation with Geoff, I and others that pass information to this site have been involved in a process of to establish what really happened. Some are insistent that it did happen while others are saying it didn’t happen.

See Related Editorial “The Alledged Gay Bashing Incident”

Be informed of updates on


Follow Jim Kirkland,  Webmaster,

on Twitter



at Christ Cathedral

Donated by Members and Friends of the

Crystal Cathedral

View Walk of Faith Stones

Nov.15 Church & HOP Update Nov. 22  Church Attendance


Total Hits since April 1, 2011:

Back to Top of Page

Online Now

Nov. 22  on the Hour of Power

Any Time – Any Where

Watch the Hour of Power

On your IPad, IPhone,

Tablet, or Smart Phone

Subscribe Today:


10 Minute Bible

An exciting journey through the Scriptures

10 minutes at a time

With Pastor James Richards

“Facts you need to know

About RCA Church Membership”

Learn More

Last 100 copies of

“Dwelling in Schullerland”

by Larry W. Gates

Now a Collector’s Item

There will never be a reprint

$ 10.00 plus $ 2.95 S & H

Larry W. Gates

P. O. Box 272

Bargersville, Indiana 46106

Watch the First Hour of Power

Taped January 18, 1970

Aired on February 1, 1970 on KTLA LA

Obituary of our Founding Pastor

Dr. Robert H. Schuller

1926 – 2015

Schuller laid to rest  Orange County Register article by Deepa Bharath.

April 20, 2015 - Updated 5:30 pm.

Op Ed: Thoughts on the passing of Dr. Robert H. Schuller by Susan Green – Posted: April 26. 2015

Pens Opinion website updated:

Nov. 22, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Words of wisdom from our founding Pastor, Dr. Robert H. Schuller:

“If you can dream it, you can see it. If you see it, you can believe it.

If you believe it you can become it”

Please respond to our Opinion Survey related to Interview guests at Shepherd’s Grove

A Random Act of Culture – Macy’s Department Store – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, October 30, 2010

Hallelujah Chorus sung by the Philadelphia Opera Company and many other choirs and shoppers